Yoga is a set of practices – what are your practices?

 a rose three Raleigh Rose Garden Raleigh Little Theatre Hey Yoga Man a rose one Raleigh Rose Garden Raleigh Little Theatre Hey Yoga Man a rose two Raleigh Rose Garden Raleigh Little Theatre Hey Yoga Man
Yoga is a set of practices.  We have many practices.  Each practice has karmic ripples, effects on our lives.  I work at a theatre that is in a public park that includes a beautiful rose garden, the Raleigh Rose Garden.

This morning, I had errands to do related to the prison yoga practice and then got to work early.  I completed a rough draft of a resume for one of my prison class members to help him in his employment search.  I did some theatre business.  I returned some phone calls.  Then I walked outside.

I saw a rose that I had not noticed before in the upper level of the grounds and smelled it.  They say that each variety has a different aroma.  I thought that it would be interesting to find out how many different aromas there were.  I decided my practice would be to smell at least ten varieties.  Three of them that I met along the way are here, but there were many more and I sniffed more than ten varieties.  I wonder.  What karmic ripples will occur from this practice?  It was certainly pleasant.  It made me glad I work here.

What are your practices?

About sordog1

Shiva Steve Ordog is a Yoga Instructor certified by Yoga Alliance - RYT 200, a Thought Field Therapy Practitioner (TFT-Algo) and a Zen practitioner. He is the author of a book on meditation, mindfulness, and yoga called "Hey, Yoga Man!: Yoga Practices for Everyday Life from a Prison Yoga Practice"
This entry was posted in Ahimsa, Buddhism, chakras, compassion, karma, non-local consciousness, practice, Raleigh Rose Garden, satvic, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

