Green Smoothies – the daily routine – at the prison yoga practice

smoothie glass prison yoga practice
cooler bag prison yoga practice

 

 

 

 

 

 

This morning, I weighed myself and found that I have nine pounds to go to get to the “ideal” weight suggested by a doctor.  After feeding the hounds that will not be denied, our Golden Retriever (America’s favorite dog) and our Jack Russell (Cute as a button), I went to work on smoothies for breakfast and lunch for two.  First I produced a lettuce, spinach and fruit smoothie with seeds for Bela’s thermos to take for lunch.  Then a similar one for me for one of the bottles I take for lunch.  Then a blender full of Mean Green smoothie for our breakfast.  Then another blender full of Mean Green for my second bottle for my lunch.  The peels fit in a small stainless steel bowl that I schlep to the composter.  The stickers off the fruit and the plastic bags from the store go in the trash.  The stuff I buy at the Farmer’s Market has no trash, just compost waste.

Then it is off to the theatre.  On the way, I stop at a drugstore and take my blood pressure.  I stopped my BP meds due to the thirty pound weight loss and this morning the reading is 126/78.  I think this should be okay!  On to supermarket for peanuts and sunflower seeds to crunch on and to the coffee shop for a large green tea.  Twenty minutes of reading Amit Goswami “God Is Not Dead: What Quantum Physics Tells Us about Our Origins and How We Should Live” because it feels good.  Then on to the theatre where I can catch up on email and write this post before opening the box office.

The bottles I have prepared will be a nice cool lunch and I have the nuts and seeds to chew on if I like.  I can also make up a hot green tea if I get the urge.  Tonight’s meal will either be another smoothie, maybe gazpacho, or a salad with beans, homemade picante, avocado, and the works, or maybe a fruit smoothie like last night.

Here are my recipes:

Standard green smoothie with fruit and seeds

  • handful of spinach and/or romaine lettuce
  • apple – quartered
  • orange – peeled
  • banana – peeled
  • chia seeds and flax seeds
  • water and ice

Throw the ingredients in the blender in this order and process until smooth!  Variations include adding some avocado for more good fat, using hemp seed, peanuts, or almonds, or adding frozen berries or fresh ones in season.

Here is my version of “Mean Green” check out “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead”  and Joe Cross’s juice recipe for my inspiration for this smoothie.

  • two big handfuls of kale
  • 1/2 large cucumber or 2 pickling cukes
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 half lemon – peeled
  • 1 granny smith apple – quartered
  • 1 big chunk of ginger root
  • water and ice

Put it all in the blender and blend until smooth.  If it is too thick then add water.  The resulting juice is a bit tart.  It is super high in micronutrients and makes you more awake than caffeine!

About sordog1

Shiva Steve Ordog is a Yoga Instructor certified by Yoga Alliance - RYT 200, a Thought Field Therapy Practitioner (TFT-Algo) and a Zen practitioner. He is the author of a book on meditation, mindfulness, and yoga called "Hey, Yoga Man!: Yoga Practices for Everyday Life from a Prison Yoga Practice"
This entry was posted in fasting, food issues, GMO, green smoothies, health, high fructose corn syrup, satvic, vegetarian, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Smoothies – the daily routine – at the prison yoga practice

  1. Pingback: Fasting. « Phaedra's Boy

  2. sordog1 says:

    Phaedra’s Boy thinks I am “cray-cray” for following this regimen. At first it was all meals were smoothies and perhaps one loaded up salad per week. After a couple months, it became smoothies for two meals a day and a meal of solid food, concentrating on raw vegetables for the third meal, supplementing with nuts and seeds. The smoothies I drink each day have roughly 24 grams of protein and 800 or 900 calories. I notice a much quieter mind and much more vigor. I have been doing this basically since July 4th of last year. I did enjoy Phaedra’s Boy’s description of his experience in doing a brief fast for blood work. You should read it. Examining what we take into the body is the point. I am not trying to get everyone to do as I do. You will find your own path. I will report on my experience from time to time. I still need to post my vegetarian bean chili and black bean veggie burger recipes.
    Namaskar

Leave a Reply

